St Michaels Country Day School | Board of Trustees
page-template-default,page,page-id-22163,qode-quick-links-1.0,tribe-no-js,,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

2019 – 2020 Board of Trustees

Officers of the Board
Isabella Dana Ridall (’97), Chair – Newport, RI
Amy Martin, Vice Chair – Wakefield, RI
Kelly Richards, Secretary – Middletown, RI
James Powell, Treasurer – Portsmouth, RI


Dorrance Benson– Newport, RI

Christopher Benzak – Newport, RI

Angus Davis – Newport, RI

Griffin Flynn (’94) – Newport, RI

Khadija Lewis Khan (’90) – Middletown, RI

Christopher McNally – Newport, RI

Mervan Osborne– Newport, RI

Curt Richardson – Jamestown, RI

Andrea van Beuren – Newport, RI

Jim Heus, Head of School

Trustee Emeriti
David Bazarsky – Newport, RI
Rose Dana – Newport, RI
Jeffrey Gordon – Newport, RI
Hope (Happy) van Beuren – Middletown, RI

COVID 19 update — our campus is closed but #SMSstaysconnected!

At this time, there are no known cases of COVID 19 in our SMS community. As Head of School Jim Heus wrote in a letter home to parents:

“In keeping with our nation’s efforts to maintain social distancing, and consistent with Governor Raimondo’s two-week suspension of public schools throughout the state, we will launch our plan for distance learning. We have planned, rehearsed and are ready to execute ‘virtual’ instruction on Monday, March 30th.”

Please CLICK HERE for FAQs on COVID 19 and distance learning.